Two women elected to Madawaska board; Fletcher out
by Don Eno, Reporter
Jun 20, 2012 | 2108 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Barbara Skinner is a newcomer to the board. - SJVT photo / Don Eno
view slideshow (2 images)
June 20 edition - ST. JOHN VALLEY - Elections in Madawaska on Tuesday, June 12 have resulted in two new people preparing to be sworn in as town selectpersons, according the town clerk, Kathleen Pelletier.

Three people had been vying for two 3-year terms on the board, including incumbents Ivan Fletcher and Michael Williams.

Williams has retained his place on the council, with a total of 234 votes. Newcomer Barbara Skinner earned the second most votes with 230. Fletcher received 200 votes and will not retain his seat on the council.

In a race to fill the vacant seat of O'Neil Clavette, Brenda Theriault received 214 votes to Guy Deschaine's 178.

Both Skinner and Theriault were scheduled to be sworn in with the other councilors at the June 19 annual town meeting. In other Madawaska election news, both Yves Dube and Walter Desrosier were reelected to the town's school board.

In Eagle Lake both Debra Labbe and Brett Labbe, who had been running unopposed to fill the seats of two departing board members, were elected. On June 12 voters there also selected John Martin once again as their representative for SAD 27's Ward 12 seat, said James Nadeau.

Also on June 12, voters in Van Buren were looking to fill two council seats being vacated. William Smith and Justin Martin were elected to the 3-year seats, with 174 and 203 votes respectively. The third candidate, Clayton Martin, received 100 votes.

At the Van Buren annual town meeting the following day, voters had an opportunity to vote on municipal articles, primarily budgetary ones. According to town clerk Kristen Streck, this year voters had an opportunity to alter each article’s funding amount either higher or lower, which she said was a change from last year when voters had not been allowed to make a motion at the meeting to increase any funding amount prior to voting.

In St. Agatha, Dale Chamberland was reelected as a write-in candidate. He will serve a 3-year term.

The seat of departing Grand Isle selectman and council chair Matt Burress was filled on June 12 with the election of David Arnold, according to town clerk Marie Sirois. Also running was Della Schlicher, who received 24 votes compared to Arnold's 71.